What is the reason for [insert mm here] size ID? What's your favorite?

I feel like this has been talked about before, but couldn’t find anything. Not being a big coil builder, I never have understood the reason for a specific ID. There was talk in chat about how the Bellus doesn’t really have room for 3mm coils and it made me wonder…why would you want that? It seems to me that a smaller ID (within reason) would be better because a smaller diameter means more wraps means more surface area means more flavor. Obviously, you’d want an ID that is large enough to accommodate the amount of wick you need, but would love some opinions on what you guys prefer and why. :smiley:

9 Likes

I use 2.5-3.5mm ID coils, it varies by the device I’m using them in.
The bigger ID coils i use for my sub ohm rta’s/ rdta’s. The reason for the bigger ID coils i find, you can use more cotton, it wicks faster giving you more juice vaporised per draw and also has bigger surface area. I do space my coils and this helps drastically with any singeing/burning of the wick. This way gives me maximum flavour/vapor production.
The smaller diameter coils i tend to use in my mtl set up’s where the device is not too demanding and doesn’t have to be fed juice at a rapid rate, i still space the smaller coils too.
These set up’s are my preference, I’ve tried closed/contact coils and spaced are far better imo.

9 Likes

The way I look at it the size of what you are wrapping weather it is round wire or a clapton of some design is constant. So 6 wraps of 24 gauge wire at 2mm would be the same width (ie: lead to lead) as that wire wrapped at 3mm. The larger diameter gives you more surface area and room for more cotton.

7 Likes

@Pattie pretty much said exactly what I would have said. I only build on 3 different atty’s and they all will hold a 3mm spaced coil perfectly so that is all I use. I find that size very easy to wick and more than adequate vapor production.

9 Likes