Why temp vs non? Why Ti vs Ni? Why rebuild?

So I’ve been vaping for almost 7 years, but for various reasons I’ve had tunnel vision. I’ve been vaping the same home-made juice for 5+ years, mostly on Kanger Protanks. I recently found a good sub-ohm tank I like (Arctic V8) and the multitude of pre-built coils for that thing made me wonder why I should choose one coil over another.

Then I got a TFV4 which has many coils and left me with more questions. And then I got an Aromamizer and an Avocado and I have no idea what kind of coil would be best for me. Holy crap there’s a hundred things to consider when rebuilding.

But I feel like I’m missing a lot of things that would help me get a better vaping experience, and I’m flailing an unable to figure out all the options because there’s just too many things to consider. Thus, I have a few questions that I’ve never found definitive answers for, let alone in one post., and googling for each gets a million hits that only imply answers for a single person.

1. Why use temp control vs watt control vs voltage control?

2. Why use Ti vs Ni vs SS?

3. Why rebuild coils vs using pre-built coils?

4. Why use low Ohm coils vs higher Ohm coils?

5. Why use simple coils vs Clapton vs fused Clapton vs fancy double-dragon-helix-mega-coils? (OK I just made that last one up, but why use super fancy coils?)

6. Why use high-VG vs low-VG juices? Is it only clouds vs flavor?

7. Why, why why? Ah hell, please give me an answer/opinion/comment to a question that I don’t even know about yet.

Thanks.

5 Likes

1- I use watts on TC devices. Can’t help

2-Taste, I use kanthal wire and stainless. SS is less metal taste and lower resistance.

3-I do both.
The coils I can build I do. Some are way out of my comfort zone and don’t have the patience to spend the time making them.

So I just purchase pre made when I want a more high tech Vape.

4-Lower ohms is hotter to me. Almost to hot when below .2. I prefer .3 SS setups.