Avoiding diacetyl in DIY

Newbie here. Just wondering how people feel about diacetyl (and the other nasty ingredients) and how people go about avoiding it. I understand that Capella claims some of its flavourings are diacetyl-free. Is there a guide anywhere on what flavourings to avoid? What do people do about it or does it not concern you?

1 Like

Itā€™s more or less a personal choice kind of thing. I think most would agree that even if you choose ā€œnot to careā€ about D/A/AP, that itā€™s still far less harmful than the over 4000 chemicals that we were ingesting with smoking.

That said, if you decide that you do want to minimize risks, given thatā€™s usually the rationale for quitting smoking to start withā€¦ then I can say look for the following:
Capella labeled as v2
The Flavor Apprentice labeled as 'DXā€™
Flavour Art: any of theirs (as I understand it)

Also, use Bull City Flavors (formerly BCV) as probably the single best site (in ā€˜warning labelingā€™) as a cross check device when youā€™re on other sites and not sure if your choice is ā€˜safeā€™ or not.

Expect lots of great replies here! Good luck with whatever you decide!

7 Likes

Thanks for that, Sprkslfly. Thatā€™s a great starting point to work from.

2 Likes

the flavor search on elr will also say if the flavor in question has any warnings and also many have the msds available on also.

2 Likes

Everyone has a different view but I am not concerned about Diacetyl at all .To be honest sucralose and sugars concern me more but vaping is a harm reduction meaning it is safer than the stinkies.
We have a flavor list that @daath and @JoJo keep up to date with the latest warnings including diacetyl and sugars.
Here is a little more info for you to read but everyone has to decide what is best for them but one thing is for sure diacetyl or no diacetyl, vaping is much safer than smoking.
https://vaporescence.com/pages/popcorn-lung-the-truth-about-diacetyl-and-vaping