Vanilla custard

Continuing the discussion from Same company? bad company? base recipe?:

LordVapor; i have two vanilla custards ( which happens to be my fave) Flavor West and Capella. I did a recipe at ten percent. which i think might be a bit too much. Anywho, the Capella at four weeks is pretty good, it is almost ready. The flavor west on the other hand is… i don’t know if it is not enough, or too much. But it is kinda airy if you will. where as the capalla is heavy, like a custard.Do you have any advise or words of wisdom? I am thinking i should add sugar cookie or caramel or even strawberry. Though i would rather keep it as close to vanilla custard as possible.
Continuing the discussion from Same company? bad company? base recipe?:

hello jojo please forgive, i am still learning the site, but i can not find the page where you organized the flaves.
Quick question, would bannanas foster be doughy or fruity?

You’ll get used to it. :wink:

Cap’s vanilla custard is definitely the go-to custard around here and the one that gets the most use. I don’t have any other custard to compare it to, but FA’s custard is the only other one I hear much about. It’s said to be a lighter, more lemon-y custard.

Links:

2 Likes

What a great moderator you are :wink:

Dan, I have used Cap’s Vanilla Custard, both V1 and V2. V2 has Butric Acid which people say tastes like vomit. I agree, it does have a weird taste to it. But in recipes I don’t mind it that much. Just a little info you may not have read yet.

I have Flavorah Vanilla Custard and I have read it puts all other custards to shame. But it will be steeping for another month because I just mixed with it. I have also read that FA Custard is very good, but I haven’t mixed with it yet either. I just started mixing in October. So I am a bit of a noob myself. I know I may seem like I know what I am saying, but I have just read a lot on here and am just quoting the greats on here. Knowledge - I have some. Experience - not yet.