Titanium Wire... Prep and Use

I’ve been using Titanium wire aka Ti for a few months now and I found it need a little preparation before use. In my research on Ti I learned that it’s primary use is jewelry making and welding. Now it’s being used as a vaping resistance wire and it is truly amazing. Absolutely the best wire I have used to date. There is nothing out there that can match Ti for flavor or vapor production… but it is a little finicky. I haven’t used the Ti that’s being sold by ecig vendors. I’ve only used that which is used for jewelry and welding because it’s cheaper. There are two types of Ti that’s safe for vaping… Grade 1 99.5 pure, and Grade 2. My preference is Grade 1.

Ti Prep and Use
I’ve notice the Ti I’m using has a slight residue on it which require cleaning before it can be used. I cut off what I’m going to use and wash it with dish detergent and then rinse thoroughly with warm water… it removes the residue. Wrap your coil and mount it. When dry firing to shape your coil, lower your wattage to 15-20 watts and pulse slowly. Ti will meltdown if you pulse it too hot. There is no need to make it glow red to shape it. Then wick it and you’re good to go. If you make a dual coil Ti build I recommend that you mount 1 coil first then check your resistance. Make sure it’s not too low for a dual build. With some of the new Temperature Control Devices you can build down to .05 ohms which is great for Dual Tio2 builds. I also found the lower you go, the better your flavor will be. Make sure your device and your batteries can handle the super low ohms Ti delivers. Be prepared for the best flavor you’ve ever had!

@daath is a fan of Grade 2 Ti and also a Ti veteran and can answer any questions about its use.

15 Likes

Great info! Ya go any links to it?
I just ended up buying some off Ebay for my eVic VT, a little pricey but free shipping so it was a little cheaper than the same stuff that’s being sold on Amazon.