Gbox mod - now it's actually quite decent

So I guess everyone knows that gbox can be a very decent squonker, but the squonk bottle is terrible and the whole rigid rod mechanism is even worse.

Being a good engineer, I decided to improve the situation.

First of all I ordered myself a pack of 5 Squonk bottles from fasttech (YFTK Replacement bottom feed …)

Next part was to dig out my rare earth magnets pack that was used to magnetize my old warhammer 40k models.

I took the gbox apart, removed the dreadful rod mechanism (held in by 2 philips screws)

The magnet pack came with matching drill bits, so I drilled out the screw holes and installed magnets on both sides

The mod can now take a normal soft silicone squonk bottle, and I don’t need to open the battery doors to replace it

And it looks perfect when closed

As you can see in this last photo i scuffed the paint a bit when I drilled out the screw holes (and the glue still didn’t dry properly since I did this literally 10 minutes ago)

The screw holes will be filled out with black milliput, smoothed out, and i will probaby sand and repant the whole back section (update will be posted when applicable :smiley:)

Super simple mod done in 15 minutes.

14 Likes
7 Likes

I’m glad you found a way to make this work for you. I hate that gbox, wish I never bought it actually lol. But that’s how you learn. Thanks for sharing.

5 Likes

Ok I’m the weird one. I have two and think their just fine. Go figure. Regardless, I do dig the fix. Much more eloquent than the MikeyVapes hack and slash, rip and tear method. The magnets are a good idea too in as much as one needs to take the cover off about once a month to tighten the 510 nut. I know, that should bother me too but it doesn’t.

6 Likes

Post of the day! Funny.

2 Likes

Awesome Bro. I want to help you though. ( I hope that doesn’t sound to facetious ).

The best place IMO to get parts for squonkers is…

6 Likes