Single flavour tests best way to taste?

Hi all,
Im new to diy and I’ve been taking a hit and miss approach to mixing by following recipes and adapting without any real idea of what I am really doing, I haven’t had any major catastrophes or even anything that has been un-vapable as yet… but after stumbling upon your forum and reading a lot of the amazing advice from you guys, I’ve decided a more measured approach might be in order if I want to start making amazing juice.
I’ve ordered some scales and other mixing equipment which should be arriving in a couple of days and plan to start doing some single flavour tests so I can learn about the flavours characteristics and put them to better use.
I was wondering if you had any tips mainly on how to test the tests, a fresh wick in my RDA seems to be the most obvious choice but seems like a lot of waste and effort for a couple of drips of several different flavours (my RDA is a dual coil set up) any other general tips on mixing/tasting would also be greatly appreciated. I realise that there is probably existing posts on the subject and I have tried to find them but I’m also very new to forums(this is my first!) And couldn’t find one, user error most likely! :joy:

9 Likes

Hey there!

Here’s a little help using the search function, we have alot of info on Single Flavor tests, or SFT’s. Just click the magnifying glass to the upper right, and type in the terms you want to search. :wink:

13 Likes

Welcome to ELR. :wave:

Fresh wick/coil is always the best, but there’s a variety of approaches that range from no wick at all (just a few drops of liquid directly on a coil) to a “stove top” coil, and more.

I personally prefer using a single coil atty that I’m very familiar with (so I can see changes, and better understand how to interpret differences better)… But try several methods for yourself and find out what your preference is for what you have to work with before you get too deep into testing.