Cherry Troubles

I am relatively new to mixing, and having a bit of trouble with Cherry flavorings. Hoping someone here can give me some guidance.
Is there a magic drop of something or another that will make cherry flavoring vape actually taste like cherry flavoring?
I have tried four different Cherry flavors, and cannot get rid of this nasty, manufactured, plastic-like chemical taste in them.
Started with a simple Cherry Vanilla recipe, and after a couple of iterations, felt the balance was right, but that the cherry was just a little off-tasting, and chemical.
Cherry (FA)-2.5%, Vanilla Custard (TPA)-2.5%, French Vanilla (CAP)-1.5%, Caramel (CAP)-1%.
So I went through the cherries here at ELR, chose three to order, mixed each as single flavor 5ml tests, at roughly average SF percentages, steeped them 4-5 days, and tested.
Every one of them is nasty, and I hope y’all can tell me why. It’s weird, too, that a drop on the finger from each bottle not only tastes good, but tastes like they are described, but when vaped… plastic (for lack of a better description). Here are the flavors:
Black Cherry (TPA) – mixed at 6%
Maraschino Cherry (FW) – mixed at 5%
Cherry Crush (FW) – mixed at 8%
Also made a combo of Crush (4%) and Black (2%).
Vaped them in two different RDAs with similar builds (Twisted Messes and Tsunami with 24ga KAL 3mm singles), varied wattages (17-27) and airflows, and switched to vaping a different recipe from a tank between trials to reset the palate.
I’ve diluted all of these by half, and am waiting for them to settle in.
Sorry for the long post, but figured you guys would ask :]
Thanks in advance for any clarifications or solutions you can offer.

1 Like

I can try my best to help. When you say they taste plastic, would you say it leaves like a feeling in your mouth or can you describe it better? I may be able to give you a few pointers on tweaks to mask a taste you are getting.

2 Likes