So what do (or did) Y'all do for a Living and Play?

I was curious to what kinda jobs everyone here has or had, since I know some of you are probably retired. Most of the forums I have hung out on in the past have been job specific, but the thread always came up where people were more specific about what they did in their line of work. So curiosity has me wondering on this forum as well…

I am a CNC Programmer/Supervisor at a race shop in the Indianapolis area. I have worked in the machining industry for 20 years. Aerospace, Racing, Medical, I have pretty much made parts for all of the fields. I started out machining for the first half of my career and slowly moved into programming and engineering. I have made some really cool stuff, especially in the Aerospace industry, but racing has been the most exciting field of them all. I once made a modification on an Indycar transmission housing that was surely against the rules. But you do what you are told. Boy do I have stories to tell :wink:

When I am off work I play a bit of guitar, a video game every once in awhile, and hang out with my son when I have him. Oh and I practically live on here since finding this forum LOL. Are there any other guitar players here?

How about you?

5 Likes

We had a thread like it here:

:smile:

4 Likes

I’m the lead case manager for a chronically homeless/disabled housing program. Been in this field for almost 14 years. Pay isn’t very good, but I love it. Get to meet some verrrry interesting people. Previously I was an IS Project Manager for 10 years. Great pay, but lousy work. Don’t have much time for hobbies (except vape related stuff) as I’m on Hubby/Dad fix-it duty all the time. Used to love model building and electronics but with failing eyesight, I rarely do it anymore. I love dogs (and all animals in general) and have four rescue dogs that keep me from going anywhere (fine by me). The wife has put me on dog restriction. If she puts me on vape restriction, I’m getting a lawyer.